What Happens If the Person at Fault in an Accident Has No Insurance?

5/5 - (1 vote)

Under Texas’ fault-based auto insurance laws, the at-fault driver is responsible for paying victims whose damages include medical bills, property damage, lost wages and pain and suffering. If you or a loved one have been injured in an accident with no insurance, it is important to contact a personal injury attorney in San Antonio.

What happens if the person at fault in an accident has no insurance?

If the at-fault driver has no insurance or is less than your maximum limit, then you may file a claim with your own insurer. This is called filing a “no-fault” claim.

You can also use a driver who has no insurance, but this is a complex matter and requires the expertise of an experienced Car Accident Lawyer. This is especially true if you suffered serious injuries in an accident with no insurance.

You Can Make a Claim with Your Car Insurance Company

Texas requires all drivers to carry at least $30,000 of liability coverage for injuries per person, up to $ 600,000 per accident, and $25,000 of property damage coverage. Depending on your policy, you may also have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM).

The first time you get into an accident with no insurance, you could face a fine that varies between $175 and $350 plus a $250 surcharge on your driver’s license fee for the next three years. For subsequent accidents, you might have your driving privileges suspended or have your vehicle impoundled.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *